110th Annual ECA Convention

Creating our Future

Providence, Rhode Island

Wednesday, April 10 – Sunday, April 14, 2019


Begin the conversation about your research, trip, or experience on
ECA’s Facebook and Twitter!

Call for Papers

Submission deadline: October 15, 2018

Providence, RI was founded in 1636 by renegade preacher Roger Williams to escape religious persecution in Massachusetts. Providence was so named to express William’s appreciation of God’s protection. A more secular translation of Providence is “the foresight or care exercised by a person in the management of affairs or resources.” Providence is now proud to call itself “The Creative Capital.” To honor the founding principles of Providence and the creative identity of Providence, it is appropriate our conference theme be “Creating Our Future.” The 110th Annual ECA Conference will be built around the idea of “Creating Our Future” through the management of resources emanating from our research and scholarly activities to transforms lives, communities, and organizations. 

In the 1970s, Providence began a creative process in which it removed bridges covering the Moshassuck and Woonasquatucket Rivers, which converge to become the Providence River and the head of Narragansett Bay. Uncovering these rivers led to the creation of a new Providence where the rivers were lined with cobblestone walkways, park benches, trees and flowering plants and a series of Venetian bridges connecting downtown Providence to the city’s East Side. The City’s revitalization process resulted in its centerpiece, the Water Place Park that includes an amphitheater and WaterFire experience. Providence is also proud of the influence of the many academic institutions on the city’s intellectual life, the city’s “cool” vibe and its much-lauded restaurant scene. 

My vision for our conference is to follow our host city’s lead by striving to be “The Creative Capital of the Communication Discipline.” We will build a future in which we use our resources to influence our immediate environments to create better education, to create an understanding of relationships and how to make relationships successful, to create organizational communication that is efficient and profit or service driven, and to create health care communication to increase patient quality of life and provider job satisfaction. My vision is to take our rightful place among fields that have earned the type of credibility we are striving to develop in external audiences, while maintaining our traditions of excellent scholarship, teaching and service. 

With “Creating Our Future” in mind, I invite members to engage in work that applies the results of our research and scholarly activities to solve problems or address challenges in communities, organizations, relationships and local environments. I invite our members to ask “what resources do I create and how can those resources create new possibilities for others?”


Please include the updated Statement of Professional Responsibility on all submissions:

In submitting the attached paper or proposal, I/We recognize that this submission is considered a professional responsibility. If this submission is accepted and programmed, I/We agree to register for the 2019 ECA Convention, pay fees, and present in Providence. I/We understand that presenters with last minute emergencies must make arrangements as possible for an alternate presenter as well as communicate their absences to both the Interest Group Planner and ECA VP; no shows will be removed from the official program.

To have time to confirm programming into the 2019 convention, notification of acceptance will not be given until the review process and initial session programming is drafted. (We do not wish to rank acceptances by sending out select notifications and having others wait.) Please expect to hear back about proposal acceptances no sooner than the traditional time of: January 2019

NOTE: A single paper or panel should only be submitted to a single interest group or affiliate organization for consideration.

Convention Acceptance Notifications: January 15, 2019


ECA 2019 CONVENTION PLANNERS CONTACT INFORMATION

Thank you to the individuals listed here for their service to ECA and to our discipline.

First Vice President & Primary Convention Planner
                             Katherine S. Thweatt
                                  SUNY Oswego
                         eca2019RI@oswego.edu
                                   (216) 246-0441

Second Vice President
Mary C. Toale
State University of New York, Oswego
mary.toale@oswego.edu    

Second Vice President
(Local Arrangements)

Julie Volkman
Bryant University
jvolkman@bryant.edu

Director of Community Impact
Jennifer Waldeck
Chapman University
waldeck@chapman.edu

Director of Marketing

Kelly Rocca DelGaizo
St. John's University
delgaizk@stjohns.edu

Graduate Poster Session
Jordan Atkinson
Missouri Western State University
jatkinson3@missouriwestern.edu

Technology Coordinator

Douglas C. Strahler
Slippery Rock University
douglas.strahler@sru.edu


Short Course Director

Sara Labelle
Chapman University
labelle@chapman.edu

Basic Course Co-Directors
Candice Thomas-Maddox       
Ohio University, Lancaster     
thomas@ohiou.edu

Sara Weintraub
Regis College
sara.weintraub@regiscollege.edu

James C. McCroskey & Virginia P. Richmond Undergraduate Scholars Conference
Meredith Marko Harrigan 
SUNY Geneseo
harrigan@geneseo.edu

Atsushi Tajima
SUNY Geneseo
tajima@geneseo.edu   

 

 


                                       ECA 2019 INTEREST GROUP PLANNERS

 

American Society for the History of Rhetoric (ASHR) (Affiliate Organization)
Michelle Gibbons
State University of New York at Delhi
gibbonmm@delhi.edu

Intercultural Communication
Rukhsana Ahmed
University at Albany, SUNY
rahmed4@albany.edu

Applied Communication
Nancy Wiencek
Rider University
Nwiencek@rider.edu

Interpersonal Communication
Jenny Rosenberg
SUNY Oswego
jenny.rosenberg@oswego.edu

Argumentation & Forensic
Theodore Sheckels
Randolph-Macon College
tsheckel@rmc.edu

Interpretation and Performance
Kathryn Hobson
James Madison University
hobsonkd@jmu.edu

Communication Administration
Amanda McKendree
University of Notre Dame
amckendree@nd.edu

Kenneth Burke
Cem Zeytinoglu
East Stroudsburg University of Pennsylvania
czeytinogl@po-box.esu.edu

Communication Law & Ethics
Jason Zenor
Geneva College
Jason.zenor@oswego.edu

Media Communication
Holly Giselle Purcell
Wayne State University
fi9294@wayne.edu

Communication and Technology
Joel Ward
Morgan State University
jsward@geneva.edu

Media Ecology (Affiliate Organization)
Roxanne M. O’Connell
Roger Williams University
roconnell@rwu.edu

Communication Traits
Nicholas Scott Smith
Wayne State University
nicholas.scott.smith@wayne.edu

Nonverbal Communication
Nicole Blau
Ohio University
dobransk@ohio.edu

Community College
Michael Stutz
Three Rivers Community College
mstutz@trcc.commnet.edu

Organizational Communication
Joseph Lybarger
University of Tennessee
jlybarge@vols.utk.edu

GIFTS
Andy Kai-chun Chuang
LaGuardia Community College
andykaichunchuang@gmail.com

Philosophy of Communication
Susan Mancino
Duquesne University
Mancinos@duq.edu

Health Communication
Heather Carmack
University of Alabama
hjcarmack@ua.edu 

Political Communication
David Levassuer
West Chester University
DLeVasseur@wcupa.edu

Institute of General Semantics (Affiliate Organization)
Lance Strate
Fordham University
strate@fordham.edu

Rhetoric and Public Address
Jason Edwards
Bridgewater State University
j3edwards@bridgew.edu

Instructional Communication
Jordan Atkinson
 Missouri Western State University
jatkinson3@missouriwestern.edu

Theory and Methodology
Richard West
Emerson College
richard_west@emerson.edu
 
Voices of Diversity

Christine Hirsch
SUNY-Oswego
Christine.Hirsch@oswego.edu